top of page

Our Texas House representative endorsements

Updated: Feb 20, 2020

The El Paso delegation continues to make El Paso proud.

El Paso State House representatives need no introduction. Every day, our State Legislators stand up for El Paso and the Borderland and we’re proud to endorse them for re-election.

In House District 75, we’re proud to endorse State Representative Mary Gonzalez.

Continuing to be a champion of rural Texas and immigrant communities, Rep. Gonzalez’s chairing of the historic House LGBT Caucus is further proof of her commitment to representing all El Pasoans. She continues to support young El Pasoans and young Texans, continuously allying herself with our parent organization, the Texas Young Democrats.

In House District 77, we’re proud to endorse State Representative Lina Ortega. Rep. Lina has been a master legislator in the House. She has been a strong voice for infrastructure improvements, much needed in our community, and has delivered. She is a fierce advocate for gun safety legislation and a strong, progressive El Paso representative.

In House District 78, we’re proud to endorse State Representative Joe Moody. Serving as speaker pro tempore of the House during the last legislative session, Rep. Moody has continuously been an outspoken champion of El Paso. His efforts in decriminalizing marijuana and tackling gun violence are what make him an excellent legislator and progressive leader.

In House District 79, we’re proud to endorse State Representative Art Fierro. Though new to the State Legislature, Rep. Fierro has made a name for himself among his colleagues. Championing important young issues, such as education reform, he has been strong Democrat in the House thus far and we’re excited to see what more he can do.

Note: As of February 3, 2020, the El Paso Young Democrats have not yet endorsed a candidate for House District 76.


The 2020 Democratic Primary is on March 3, 2020. Election day information can be found on the El Paso County Election Department’s website here.


This endorsement was authorized by the interim Board of the El Paso Young Democrats.


bottom of page